Fleche Opperman All Day Trial 2013

It has been a while since I have posted but that doesn’t mean that I have abandoned cycling! I took a break from long rides for a while but have maintained cycle commuting 9 km each way for most days of my working week. Although the distance I cycle each day is not far, the consistency of riding most days a week helps keep my fitness up. I was fit enough to complete the Santos Great Bike Ride for Charity 2012 in under 2 hours. Ok, so 53 km in 1:59:55 isn’t that great a time but it’s ok considering that is my longest ride this year! Anyway, the Great Bike Ride was an awesome day out on the bike and it was good to see nearly 4,000 cyclists of all ages, shapes, sizes and fitness levels out there giving it a go.

Fleche Opperman All Day Trial 2013
I have signed up for the Fleche Opperman All Day Trial in 2013. The Fleche Opperman All Day Trial (or “The Oppy”) is an annual event held by Audax Australia. The Oppy is an event for teams of three to five bicycles and is held over 24 hours. The course and distance are chosen by each team and must be at least 360km long and finish at a designated location in each state. You can find out more about the event here: http://www.audax.org.au/public/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=52&Itemid=72

I will be spending the next couple of months training hard to make sure I can keep up with my team. Should be fun!

Leave a Reply

