Audax ‘God’s Bison’ – 100km

It was very windy at the start of the ride, so windy that I was being blown around on the road, even though I was riding my steel bike! The winds didn’t really amount to much of a tailwind even when I turned around. Out in Death Valley, it started to get hot and hilly. Very hot and very hilly! I started to struggle to keep up with Andrew and eventually I told him to go on because I didn’t want him to time out.

The heat, the hills and gale force headwinds at the start really took it out of me. I spent the last leg (Mundaring Weir to Kalamunda) in a complete panic that I would not make it in time. I didn’t want to be disqualified again because I am too slow!

Using my rudimentary maths skills, I had calculated the time limit would be 6h 20mins. I made it in 6h 20mins. However, the correct time limit is 6h 40mins.

All up, with my gearing the hills were manageable, my heavy steel bike helped with the gale force winds, I had enough water and wasn’t too hot most of the time. It was quite a scenic ride and I actually had time to enjoy the view quite a few times. I only really overheated on that last hill which was quite a struggle. For me, it was a mostly enjoyable ride but I got to the point where I didn’t want to see another hill! Although I must say that by the time I got to that last hill I was a bit over it.

Anyway, glad I did it and glad I finished IN TIME!

I loved the shade on the side of the road
Hills
uphill
another hill
every hill made my stomach sink and my speed drop – even before I got there
It was hot
My head was spinning
I stopped for water at Mundaring Weir
Hot, hills, hot, more hills
I made it… just

Temp on the bike maxed out at over 40!

Link to the Map of the route

You can read my original ride report, and what other people said about the ride, here.

Leave a Reply

