Bike lights – Ay Up MTB Kit

Today I placed an order for the Ayup Lighting Systems MTB Kit for Audax rides.  For over 2 months I have been researching lights and comparing performance and price between different light sets.  Key to my selection was compliance with Audax lighting rules, namely:

On a ride where any part of the maximum permitted time for the ride is at night, a rider must:
(a) have available for use at all times:
i. at least two independently powered front lights,
ii. at least two independently powered rear lights; and
iii. a reflective vest, bandolier or jersey or equivalent,
(b) have securely attached to the cycle at all times, one front light and one rear light and a red reflector,

For front lights I needed two light engines, two batteries and two mounts.

I looked at a number of lights with the aid of the MTBR LED Bike Lights Shootout3 and eventually shortlisted the excellent Dinotte 200L Dual kit and the Ayup Lighting Systems MTB Kit.

Dinotte Kit

The Dintotte 200L Dual kit includes 2 light engines rated at 200 lumens, 2 long life batteries, mounts, battery holders etc.  The long life batteries have a run time of 8 hours at 100% and 16 hours at 50%.  Batteries are Lithium-ion (Li-ion).  Mounting of light engines is very simple.

Advantages

  • Simple mouting
  • Long run time (16 hours at 100%, 32 hours at 50%)
  • Power output options (100%, 50% etc)

Ayup Kit

The Ayup MTB kit includes 2 light engines rated at 340 lumens, 2 standard batteries and 1 long life battery, mounts, battery holders etc. The standard batteries have a run time of 3 hours at 100% and the long life batteries have a run time of 6 hours at 100%.  Total run time of 12 hours at 100%. Batteries are Lithium-ion polymer (Li-po).  Mounting of light engines is more complex than the Dinotte lighting system.

Advantages

  • Brighter
  • Lighter, smaller light engine
  • Lighter, smaller batteries

Why Ayup?

At the time I compared prices, the Dinotte system and Ayup system were the same price delivered.  Although I found the Dinotte longer run time, simple mounting system and ability to vary output levels attractive, I selected Ayup for their brighter lights and smaller, lighter batteries.  In my opinion, Li-po is a superior battery technology.  I would prefer to have the option of dimming lights if necessary to gain a greater run time (at reduced light output) in an emergency situation.  Ayup sell a Epic Lithium Polymer Battery with High and modes for $88 plus $15 delivery.  Quite a hefty price to pay for an additional 6 hours battery life.  However, I may purchase an additional battery before the Perth-Albany-Perth Audax ride in October next year.

I will update this post after the lights arrive and I have tested them on the Audax Dawn ’til Dusk – Spring ride.

2 responses to “Bike lights – Ay Up MTB Kit

  1. Great write up, I can now see why you chose the Ayup’s. I know @scottdavis speaks highly of his, but I wasn’t aware they had such long run times.

    I have to say I think that these might be next on my list of purchases.

    Plus I hope to be getting into some Audax stuff when the weather eases up

  2. They’re not a bad light the ayups, although for run time, it’s hard to beat a dynohub!

Leave a Reply

