‘Swanning Around’ – 50km Ride Report

On Sunday 31 May, 2009, I was one of 5 riders who set out from Deep Water Point, Mt Pleasant for the Audax – ‘Swanning Around’ – 50km ride. Although rain had been predicted earlier in the week, the weather held, and was beautiful as we headed up the freeway bike path through South Perth. We followed the bike path to UWA and then headed up to Kings Park for a quick once around. After that we followed the usual route around the river through Freo and back to Point Walter, taking in the spectacular views of the river.

We stopped at Point Walter for an obligatory coffee and muffin, which were excellent. After a quick break we headed off for the short leg back to the start point. As there were only 5 of us, we rode almost the whole route as a group. bradwoodbr (Brad) SHANE SHAW (Shane) and myself represented the forum. It was Shane’s first Audax ride and he went very well. It was good to see a new face.

Three of us on the ride had been on the 100km ‘Dupuy Dawdle’ the day before, which probably explains the relaxed pace – 50km took us 3 hours elapsed time – I don’t have the riding time so hopefully Shane will be able to provide.

I really enjoyed this ride, although I did not find it nearly long enough. I only selected the 50km option though as I was riding my bike to my mechanic in Bassendean. So all up for the day I clocked 105km, which felt like a decent ride.

With my rear wheel newly rebuilt with new spokes and nipples and running like silk, I am starting to seriously consider the 300km next weekend. :D

Link to the Map of the route

You can read my original ride report, and what other people said about the ride, here.

My original promotion for the ride on Bicycles Network Australia is here.

Leave a Reply

