‘Dog Leg Loop’ 100km Ride Report

On Sunday, May 3 2009, I was one 6 riders who left Deep Water Point in Mt Pleasant at 8 am for the ‘Dog Leg Loop’ 100km ride.  We cruised down the freeway south PSP as a group, and then headed into the back roads of Baldivis.  The route meandered through farmland, with a loop around Dog Hill and then back to the freeway PSP.

I rode the first 50km with a group, then at my own pace for the 50km back to DWP.  I enjoy riding in a group and enjoy riding solo, so I got the best of both worlds.  For the first time I had to use the route sheet, which I found very easy to follow and it added some interest to the ride.

It pretty easy going for the first 60km as there was a tail wind most of the way.  However, heading north on the way back there was a headwind that slowed us down.  I was feeling good until Thomas Road where I stopped to eat some more and drink more water.  The last 25km back to DWP were more challenging into the headwind, but I got in not long after the last group.

The weather was fantastic for riding.  It was cool but sunny and there was no wind until half way.  I certainly felt a lot stronger for this ride than for my first 100km and cut 30 minutes off my previous ride (Beach Life), with an average speed of 25.3km/h.  I was very happy with my performance and I really enjoyed the ride.

You can read my original ride report, and what other people said about the ride, here.

Leave a Reply

