First full month of cycling

On March 31, 2009, I completed my first full month of cycling.  Each work day I save between 20 minutes and 40 minutes by cycle commuting compared to the bus and save around $1,400 a year in travelling expenses.  I find it very convenient to be able to leave home or work when I want and not to have to wait for a bus or train.  Also, if I feel like a longer ride on the way home I am already on the bike and traveling whereas previously after returning from work I felt like I didn’t have the energy to exercise.

I have found some great shared paths and some terrible bike paths around Perth and have found other cyclists range from friendly/courteous to extremely rude and dangerous.

In my first month of riding I have had my first stack, my first flat, participated in my first group ride, my first Audax ride, my first 100km ride and my first Freeway Bike Hike.  I have met some great people.  Thanks also to everyone for being so friendly and encouraging and I hope to achieve more next month.

Stats

588.75km this month
700 km since 23/2/2009

You can view my original Australian Cycling Forums post here:  First full month of riding

Leave a Reply

